Awards and scholarships

For additional details on the following awards and scholarships, please visit the Scholarship, Bursary and Award Guide.

Arne and Lesley Carlson Scholarship

This $500 award was established in honour of Arne and Lesley Carlson in celebration of their lives and of their life work in Archaeology. Available to a full-time student who has completed a minimum of 60 credit hours and has declared a major in Anthropology focusing on the archaeology of northern British Columbia

Ann McQuaid Memorial Scholarship

UNBC established this award in recognition of Ann McQuaid's outstanding contribution to the community of Prince George. This award is available to a student enrolled at UNBC who has completed at least 30 credit hours towards an undergraduate degree in the College of Arts and Social Sciences and who demonstrates community service, involvement and leadership.

Elizabeth Kellie Chapter IODE - Josephine Swann Bursary

Mrs. Carrie Crawley established this tribute in memory of her mother, Mrs. Josephine Swann who was a life-long member of IODE and, along with Mary Martin, established the Elizabeth Kellie Chapter and upheld the mission statement of IODE to improve the quality of life for her children, youth and those in need, through educational, social service and citizenship programs. This award is available to a full-time student who is a Canadian citizen and enrolled in an Arts and Science or Health and Human Science program. Preference will be given to a graduate of a northern BC high school.

Seniors Festival Bursary

The now disbanded Seniors Festival Committee organized the Seniors Festival at the Pacific National Exhibition for a number of years. The PNE has now taken over operations for the Festival. The Seniors Festival Committee wanted their remaining funds to support a deserving UNBC student. This award is available to a full-time student enrolled in the Faculty of Arts who has completed a minimum of 60 credit hours.

Can-West Global Communications undergraduate Bursary

This award was established to demonstrate the Can-West's commitment to the advancement of communications studies in BC institutions and is available toa full-time student with a declared major in northern-specific social science programs (Anthropology, Economics, First Nations Studies, History, International Studies, Northern Studies, Political Science, Women's Studies, Psychology).

NutritionLink Award

This award was established by NutritionLink to provide funding to students interested in promoting nutrition and healthy food choices and is available toa full or part time undergraduate student enrolled in one or more of the following courses: NURS 206-3, HHSC 311-3, ANTH 311-3 or FNST 292-3.

Beatrice Medicine Fellowship for Native Women in Anthropology

AINAAN (American Indian, Native American, Alaskan Native) anthropologists, a special interest section of the AAA has established a fellowship in honour of Dr. Beatrice Medicine, distinguished scholar and activist. This fellowship will be awarded to a native woman who is pursuing a doctoral degree in Anthropology.