IASK Committee

Dr. Tracy Summerville

Dr. Tracy Summerville is an Associate Professor of Political Science at UNBC and the Coordinator of the IASK Curriculum Program. Her research includes work on sustainable communities and a study on the impacts of globalization on northern British Columbia. Dr. Summerville has been a part of the IASK Program Committee since its inception in 2010. Dr. Summerville believes that this program will provide an enriched first year experience for new UNBC students and she looks forward to participating as the instructor of the IASK Learning courses.

Dr. Paul Bowles

Dr. Paul Bowles holds a cross-appointment as a Professor in the Economics and International Studies programs. I have taught in the U.K., U.S. and Canada, held a visiting position in Australia, and am an associate faculty at Mexican university. I have done research in and on Asia for a couple of decades and have written on China's reforms and on Asian regionalism. I have also published widely on globalization including a book on national currencies in a global world. Other recent books include a co-edited volume on Globalization and Labour in China and India and a book on Capitalism. I was awarded a UNBC Research Excellence Award in 2008.

Dr. Angèle Smith

Dr. Angèle Smith is an Associate Professor of Anthropology at UNBC specializing in cultural anthropology. Her research focuses on landscapes, place, the construction of cultural identities, and the politics of belonging. She explores these concepts primarily in Ireland, in both historic and contemporary time periods, and more recently in a new research project focused on Banff National Park. Her work bridges many fields of study, including cultural anthropology, ethno-history, and historical archaeology, and reaches out to a broader audience that includes geographers and historians, to name a few. She also has long been involved with the Interdisciplinary Studies Graduate Program at UNBC. Since 2011, she has worked with the IASK Committee to help to foster integrative, collaborative and interdisciplinary education opportunities for first year students and looks forward to teaching IASK 104: Peoples, Place and Culture.

Dr. Lisa Dickson

Dr. Lisa Dickson is an Associate Professor of English specializing in Renaissance Literature and Literary Theory. Her current research focuses on the relationship between beauty and violence in art and literature, with particular emphasis on the representation of violence in Renaissance Drama. She is a 3M National Teaching Fellow and a recipient of the UNBC Excellence in Teaching Award (2007). Much of her service to the university community is dedicated to promoting and supporting effective teaching and learning. She has been a member of the IASK Program Committee since its inception in 2010 and looks forward to meeting students in her course, IASK 101: Ways of Knowing.


Dr. Ross Hoffman

Dr. Ross Hoffman is an Associate Professor in First Nations Studies at UNBC. He has lived in northwestern BC for thirty years and worked with Wet'suwet'en, Gitxsan, and Cree communities on a variety of community- based research projects in the areas of education, language, culture, and health and wellness. This has included extensive work in the oral tradition with Elders and other knowledge holders. His research focuses on the inter-relationship between cultural renewal, health and wellness, identity, and education within Indigenous contexts. He has been a member of the IASK Committee since its inception in 2010.


Dr. Heather Smith

Dr. Heather Smith is Professor of International Studies and Acting Director of the UNBC Centre for Teaching, Learning and Technology. An active researcher, her primary areas of research include Canadian foreign policy, indigenous perspectives on climate change, the Highway of Tears and as well as the scholarship of teaching and learning. Dr. Smith has also been the Chair of International Studies (2001-2007), Coordinator of Professional Development (2005-2007), Acting Dean of Development (2005-2007), Acting Dean of Teaching, Learning and Technology (2007) and Acting Director of the Centre for Teaching, Learning and Technology (2007-2008). She has been a member of the IASK Committee since its inception in 2010 and is looking forward to working with students in this innovative program.