Awards and distinctions

Provincial Awards

Order of British Columbia

The Order of British Columbia recognizes those persons who have served with the greatest distinction and excelled in any field of endeavour benefiting the people of British Columbia and beyond.

Deadline: Nominations accepted all year

National Awards

Biophysical Society of Canada: Fellows and Early Career Investigator Awards

The Biophysical Society of Canada recognizes outstanding contributions of its members to biophysics. Outstanding Canadian researchers who have made exceptional contributions to biophysics are recognized as Fellows of the Biophysical Society of Canada and are selected to give the National Lecture at the BSC Annual Meeting. Outstanding Canadian early career investigators are recognized with the Early Career Investigator Award, and are also selected for a plenary lecture at the BSC meeting. 

Deadline: June 30, 2023

Canada Council for the Arts: Molson Prizes

The Molson Prizes are awarded annually to distinguished individuals (one in the arts and one in the social sciences and humanities). The prizes are intended to encourage continuing contributions to the cultural and intellectual heritage of Canada.

Deadline: TBD

National Research Council Canada: Killam Prizes

The Killam Prizes are awarded to active Canadian scholars who have distinguished themselves through sustained excellence, making a significant impact in their respective fields in the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, health sciences, and engineering.

Deadline: June 2, 2023

Canadian Academy of Health Sciences Fellowship

The Academy recognizes the full breadth of academic health science. Fellows elected to the Academy will be well recognized by their peers nationally and internationally for their contributions to the promotion of health science.

Deadline: TBD

Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame celebrates Canadian heroes whose work advances health in Canada and the world, fostering future generations of health professionals through the delivery of local and national youth education programs and awards.

Deadline: June 12, 2023

Canadian Science and Engineering Hall of Fame

The Canadian Science and Engineering Hall of Fame honours Canadians who have made outstanding contributions to society in science and engineering.

Deadline: TBA

Health Research Foundation Medal of Honour

The Health Research Foundation Medal of Honour is awarded to remarkable individuals whose research or contributions to public policies supportive of research and development in Canada have achieved international recognition.

Deadline: June 21, annually

Northern Science Award

The Northern Science Award is presented annually to an individual or a group who has made a significant contribution to meritorious knowledge and understanding of the Canadian North. The award also recognizes the transformation of knowledge into action.

Deadline: January 31, annually

Order of Canada

The Order of Canada honours people who make extraordinary contributions to the nation.

Deadline: Nominations accepted all year

Research Canada Leadership in Advocacy Award

The Research Canada Leadership in Advocacy Award honours champions in health research advocacy.

Deadline: TBD

Royal Society of Canada: Fellowship

Fellows of the RSC are distinguished Canadians from all branches of learning who have made remarkable contributions in the arts, the humanities and the sciences, as well as in Canadian public life.

Deadline: December 1, annually

Royal Society of Canada: College of New Scholars, Artists, and Scientists

The RSC College is Canada's first national system of multidisciplinary recognition for the emerging generation of Canadian intellectual leadership.

Deadline: December 1, annually

Royal Society of Canada: Awards

The RSC administers over 20 prestigious awards in recognition of outstanding achievement.

Deadline: March 31, 2023

Steacie Prize for Natural Sciences

The Steacie Prize for Natural Sciences is awarded annually to a young scientist or engineer in Canada.

Deadline: June 30, annually

Tri-Council Awards

CIHR Gold Leaf Prizes

CIHR's Gold Leaf Prizes are among the highest honours that can be bestowed on an individual or team for excellence in health research and its translation into benefits for Canadians.

Deadline: TBD, awarded every two years

NSERC Prizes

NSERC celebrates exceptional examples of research excellence with a wide range of prizes. Individual awards focus on accomplishments that range from innovative discoveries by young researchers to lifetime achievement and influence.

Deadline: TBD

SSHRC Impact Awards

SSHRC Impact Awards recognize outstanding researchers and celebrate their research achievements, research training, knowledge mobilization, and outreach activities funded partially or entirely by SSHRC.

Deadline: April 1, annually

Internal Awards

University Achievement Award: Research

The University Achievement Award for Research seeks to acknowledge Faculty Association Members who are deemed exceptional researchers and scholars.

Deadline: TBD