Graduate Semester Dates

Academic Year

The academic year extends from September 1 to August 31. Each 12-month academic year is composed of the following semesters:

  • September Semester - September to December
  • January Semester - January to April
  • May Semester - May to August


2021 - 2022 UNBC Holidays/Closures

Labour Day Mon 6 September Good Friday
Fri 15 April
National Day for Truth and Reconciliation Thurs 30 September Easter Sunday Sun 17 April
Thanksgiving Day Mon 11 October Easter Monday Mon 18 April
Remembrance Day Thurs 11 November Victoria Day Mon 23 May
Winter Break Fri 24 December - Sat 1 January Maintenance Shutdown Sat 25 June
Family Day Mon 21 February Canada Day Fri 1 July
Mid-Semester Break Tues 22 - Fri 25 February BC Day Mon 1 August


2021 September, 2022 January, and 2022 May Semester Academic Dates

2021 September 2022 January
2022 May
Orientation Day Tues 7 September Tues 4 January
First Day of Classes Wed 8 September Wed 5 January Mon 2 May
Fees Due Wed 8 September Wed 5 January Mon 2 May
Add/Drop Date Wed 22 September Wed 19 January Mon 16 May
Withdrawal Date Fri 29 October Thurs 24 February Tues 21 June
Last Day of Classes Mon 6 December Thurs 7 April Fri 12 August
First Day of Exams Tues 7 December Fri 8 April Mon 15 August
Last Day of Exams Fri 17 December Fri 22 April Fri 19 August


2022 Spring and Summer Intersession Academic Dates

Intersession 2022 Spring 2022 Summer
First Day of Classes Mon 2 May Mon 4 July
Fees Due Mon 2 May Mon 2 May
Add/Drop Date Fri 6 May Fri 8 July
Last Day of Classes Fri 10 June Fri 12 August
First Day of Exams Mon 13 June Mon 15 August
Last Day of Exams Fri 17 June Fri 19 August


2021 - 2022 Application for Graduation and Convocation Dates

Application Deadline for September Semester Graduation Mon 1 November
Application Deadline for January Semester Graduation Tues 1 March
Application Deadline for May Semester Graduation Fri15 July
Convocation Day (Prince George Campus) Fri 27 May


2021 - 2022 Senate Dates

22 Sept 2021 27 Oct 2021 24 Nov 2021 26 Jan 2022 23 Feb 2022
23 Mar 2022 27 Apr 2022 25 May 2022 22 Jun 2022 24 Aug 2022
For more detailed information on Academic Dates & Deadlines, please see the following documents:


Academic Dates and Deadlines Through August 2030


updated: September 1, 2021