University Joint Health & Safety Committee

The University Joint Health and Safety Committee is comprised of Employee and Employer members representing the UNBC community.

The Committee mandate is to advise, assist, and make recommendations to help minimize workplace risks, and potential for accidents and injuries thereby improving the health, safety, and personal security of Students, Faculty, Staff, Contractors, and Visitors to the University.

If you have any questions or concerns please contact your appropriate member representative below.

University Joint Health and Safety Committee Members 

EMPLOYER REPRESENTATIVES
NAME                                       POSITION                                                                        EMAIL
Sarah Elliott, (Co-Chair)
Employer Rep 
Director, Safety and Security sarah.elliott@unbc.ca
Marlene Cannon,
Employer Rep, Alternate
Manager Security and Parking marlene.cannon@unbc.ca
Kerry Roberts,
Employer Rep 
Director of Human Resources kerry.roberts@unbc.ca
Sean Kinsley,     
Employer Rep, Alternate                         
Senior Financial Analyst
sean.kinsley@unbc.ca
Debbie Roberts,
Employer Rep
Dean, Faculty of Science and Engineering deborah.roberts@unbc.ca
Ronald Camp II,
Employer Rep
Dean, Faculty of Business & Economics ronald.campii@unbc.ca
Vacant
Employer Rep, Alternate
Twylla Hamelin,
Employer Rep 
Administrative Director NMP twylla.hamelin@unbc.ca
Trevor Smith
Employer Rep, Alternate
Manager, School of Nursing
trevor.smith@unbc.ca
David Claus,
Employer Rep
Director, Facilities/ Capital Planning david.claus@unbc.ca
Aaron Olsen,
Employer Rep, Alternate
Manager, Facilities Operations
aaron.olsen@unbc.ca
EMPLOYEE REPRESENTATIVES
Shannon MacKay, 
CUPE Employee Rep
Indigenous Student Recruiter shannon.mackay@unbc.ca
Aneta Douglass
CUPE Employee Rep, Alternate
Accounting Analyst - Research aneta.douglass@unbc.ca
Joyce Henley,
CUPE Employee Rep
Student Recruitment Officer joycehenley@unbc.ca
Beth Gentleman,
CUPE Employee Rep,  Alternate
Chemistry Lab Technician beth.gentleman@unbc.ca
Christa Florell,
Faculty Employee Rep,  
FA-Professional Svs Officer christa.florell@unbc.ca
Lianne Tripp,
Faculty Employee Rep, Alternate
Assistant Prof - ANTH lianne.tripp@unbc.ca
Malgorzata (Mal) Kaminska, Co-Chair
Faculty Employee Rep
Assistant Prof - NMP malgorzata.kaminska@unbc.ca
Saphida Migabo,
Faculty Employee Rep, Alternate
Sr Lab Instructor - BIOL (ESM)
saphida.migabo@unbc.ca
Ashley Rowland,
CUPE 2278 Employee Rep
TA -Psychology arowland@unbc.ca
Vacant,
CUPE 2278 Employee Rep, Alternate
Narayan Koirola,
CUPE 2278 Employee Rep 
TA -Geography koirala@unbc.ca
Vacant
CUPE 2278 Employee Rep, Alternate
COMMITTEE RESOURCES
Lydia Troc,
Ex-Officio Resource
Manager, Health & Safety lydia.troc@unbc.ca
Conan Ma,
Ex-Officio Resource
Chemical Safety Officer conan.ma@unbc.ca
Tammy Klassen-Ross,
Ex-Officio Resource
Assistant Professor FHHS tammy.klassen-ross@unbc.ca
Natalie de Bruyn,
Ex-Officio Resource
NHSRF Coordinator natalie.debruyn@unbc.ca
Jennifer Skaar,
Recording Secretary
Risk & Safety Assistant jennifer.skaar@unbc.ca

Meeting Minutes

2020 Minutes     

   2021 Minutes    

January 2020 January 2021
February 2020 February 2021
April 2020 March 2021
May 2020 April 2021
June 2020 May 2021
July 2020 June 2021
August 2020 July 2021
September 2020
October 2020
November 2020
December 2020

Terms of Reference -2021